Christine (1983)

Synopsis:

A teenager (Keith Gordon, Dressed to Kill) buys a 20-year-old car (nicknamed “Christine” by its previous owner), and quickly becomes obsessed with it. Unbeknownst to everyone, the car has a mind of its own, and begins to do some awful things.

Reaction & Thoughts:

“You better watch what you say about my car. She’s real sensitive.”

Stephen King is one of the most adapted writers in America. His books are constantly turned into feature length films, with widely different results. Thankfully, for every bad film adaptation like The Dark Tower (2017), there is a production that is successful at translating King’s themes and storytelling style to cinematic language.

Though King himself hated it (he called it “boring”), I’ll count Christine as one of the good King movies. Meticulously directed by John Carpenter (The Thing), this is not a great film by any standards, but it’s surprisingly well-made for what it is.

Although some parts of the story don’t bear scrutiny, Christine will certainly provide horror fans with a few jolts and thrills. It’s a wonderfully creepy presentation. I particularly liked how director Carpenter gives about equal attention to the supernatural and to the everyday life problems of teenagers.

Christine is remarkably similar to Carrie (1976). Both stories revolve around bullied teens who go after their tormentors, and both stories work because the main characters are properly fleshed out. In the case of Christine, I had a special connection with the main character because of his love for his car. I wasn’t crazy about my first car, but I was obsessed with my bicycle, so the story was relatable for me.

I also found Keith Gordon believable as the teen who goes from awkward dork to edgy hotshot. Gordon’s nuanced performance gives the movie extra depth. And there is scene-stealer Harry Dean Stanton (Pretty in Pink and Repo Man) in the small role of a no-nonsense detective investigating the mysterious deaths. I loved how Stanton came in, and turned the suspense up by simply standing around asking questions.

The visual effects are really cool. I’m not against CGIs, but, honestly, I much prefer practical effects to anything created by a computer. The car constantly fixes itself right before your eyes, and those scenes are fun to watch — I still don’t know how they did it! And Donald M. Morgan (Starman) moody cinematography is especially strong, which helps the film achieve an increasingly sinister atmosphere.

Conclusions & Final Thoughts:

Christine is a lot better than I remember. Incidentally, it’s the only time director John Carpenter and author Stephen King joined forces, and it was a match made in heaven (or hell)! I think writer Bill Phillips (Fire with Fire) did an outstanding job simplifying King’s complex tale without losing the essence of it. Despite King’s criticisms, I’ll place Christine among my favorite King movies. Color, 110 minutes, Rated R.

Theatrical Trailer:

36 responses to “Christine (1983)

  1. I have mixed feelings about Christine. The car effects are impressive and it is a creepy tale from an accomplished horror director. The only thing I didn’t like was how much of an a**hole Arnie became when the car took over his mind. The Carrie similarities are a good observation, but they differ in the fact that Carrie maintained her sympathy right up until the end.

    Liked by 2 people

      • I’m sure that many of us in our teenage years have had fantasies of supernatural comeuppances for bullies. In that sense, King in his wisdom could still make Arnie tragically sympathetic despite his being so blatantly driven down the wrong path.

        Liked by 2 people

  2. You can tell this is a work for hire, and it feels a bit more spoofy than sinister, but its watchable. The special effects, though, are, as you said, surprisingly impressive even now.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I’ve read that Carpenter was so rattled by the failure of his previous movie, The Thing, that he deliberately chose the low-key Christine (and Starman for that matter) to show the naysayers that he could do something less bombastic.

      Liked by 1 person

      • As much of a fan as I’ve been of The Thing, even though it was the second viewing to make me a fan, John Carpenter’s efforts for branching out more with Starman (earning Jeff Bridges an Oscar nod), Big Trouble In Little China and They Live were of course rewarding.

        Liked by 2 people

  3. Christine is my all-time favorite movie based on Stephen King. I can understand King’s dislike for it although, from what I know of the novel, I’m glad that John Carpenter directed it the way he did. In the most effective mix of horror and teenage issues that such a film could give us, Keith Gordon was brilliant as Arnie. It was also my first impression of Robert Prosky whose performance as Darnell is quite unforgettable. I re-watched Christine for this Halloween month and I appreciate reviews that do it justice. Thank you, Eric.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I should have mentioned Prosky! He is always great.

      Anyhow, here are my favorite Stephen King movies (in no particular order):

      The Shining (1980)
      Carrie (1976)
      The Dead Zone (1983)
      Misery (1990)
      Dolores Claiborne (1995)
      The Shawshank Redemption (1995)
      The Green Mile (1999)
      Stand by Me (1986)
      Cujo (1983)
      Salem’s Lot (1979)
      Christine (1983)
      Creepshow (1982)
      Cat’s Eye (1984)
      The Mist (2007)

      What are your favorite movies?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Stand By Me, The Shawshank Redemption and The Green Mile are more of my Stephen King movie favorites too. The Shining I only remember most fondly for being my intro to Jack Nicholson.

        Liked by 2 people

      • No love for ‘Dreamcatcher’? I know, I know but it has some interesting stuff. Maybe a mess but man it has funky dialogue, that bathroom scene, the brain filing cabinet, Morgan Freeman’s eyebrows, and ‘I Duddits’. I like its insanity. ‘Cell’ on the other hand is no fun at all. ‘Doctor Sleep’ was rather good I thought. Your list is rather outstanding.

        Liked by 2 people

        • Oh ‘Mr Mercedes’ first season was excellent. Seasons two and three not so much. Should have been one and done. Brendan Gleeson was outstanding. ‘Under the Dome’ should have been a limited series. Never, never a tv series. Follow the book too these people aren’t Kubrick!

          Liked by 2 people

              • Secret Window, despite the excellent acting by Johnny Depp of course, could have indeed benefited from a better twist. Given the awareness for the realisms of DID in this generation, it’s an obvious problem when DID twists become so stereotypical and stagnating in our entertainment industry.

                Liked by 2 people

                • “it’s an obvious problem when DID twists become so stereotypical and stagnating in our entertainment industry.”

                  Yes! That’s why I didn’t like Shutter Island (2010) — I figured out the twist 10 minutes into the movie. Identity (2003) has the same twist, so I wasn’t fooled.

                  Liked by 1 person

                • I was well informed in advanced before seeing the movie, thanks to my mother who read the book, how Shutter Island would end. I just appreciated how it specified the realism of facing a repressed and potentially identity-changing trauma. That alone, especially thanks to Leo’s brilliant acting, made it watchable enough for me.

                  Liked by 2 people

              • I thought ‘1408’ was alright too. ‘Nightmares and Dreamscapes’ uneven but watchable series. Fun episode where William Hurt battles toy soldiers. Really funny and well acted by him.

                Liked by 2 people

              • I liked the new IT. I was apprehensive at first because I thought Tim Curry’s Pennywise was unsurpassable. But, the new version is pretty good. I did think that both versions have exactly the same flaw: the first half is more interesting than the second half. I guess it’s King’s fault.

                Liked by 1 person

                • Yes, I tend to agree. I like Jessica Chastain but her character should have been played by Amy Adams and not because I would cast her in everything. The younger girl in the first film had played a younger version of Adams in ‘Sharp Objects’ and looks just like her. Just a little peeve of mine. Need to finish that brick of a novel one day. Oh and you will love that William Hurt. He’s great and the direction by Jim Henson’s son is good too.

                  Liked by 2 people

          • I found Dreamcatcher interesting enough for the chance to see Morgan Freeman play a villain. But like Secret Window, it was a sign that films based on Stephen King’s work were starting to take a bit of a tumble.

            Liked by 2 people

  4. I also have a great attachment to “Christine”. I’m not a fan of cars, but I saw the film when it came out and I identified with this weak young man who allows himself to be “virilized” by his car. Carpenter drive through his obsession with immaterial evil, and he makes King’s work his own. A really great job.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment