All the Right Moves (1983)

Synopsis:

In a small Pennsylvanian town, a high school football star (Tom Cruise, Top Gun) hopes to earn a scholarship to go to college. However, the teenager’s dreams are dashed after his coach (Craig T. Nelson, Poltergeist) kicks him off the team.

Reaction & Thoughts:

“Scholarship here, no scholarship here. Who the hell gave you that power?”

I’ve always had mixed feeling about Tom Cruise. I don’t care about his personal life, I’m talking about his screen career. I admire his longevity as a movie star — the sixty-one-year-old actor  seems to be more popular now than ever before — but I’ve never been able to fully embrace him. I can’t really explain it. One day I’ll figure out.

I do know that I really liked him in those pre-Top Gun (1986) roles. As a matter of fact, Risky Business (1983) has always been my favorite Cruise movie. I also have a lot of affection for All the Right Moves (1983), where Cruise delivers a moving performance as a blue-collar teenager desperately fighting for a better future.

Although it falls a bit short in some areas, I appreciated the fact that the film tried to present a familiar underdog story from a different angle — common sports movie clichés are framed around the rarely-discussed issue of college sports scholarships. How do you obtain an athletic scholarship? The process is kinda unfair and heart-wrenching, and you get to see why it’s so important for some students to get a scholarship.

Director Michael Chapman, who is better known for his extraordinary work as a cinematographer in Martin Scorsese’s Taxi Driver (1976) and Raging Bull (1980), keeps the focus on Cruise, and that proved to be a winning strategy. Cruise wasn’t the big Hollywood star yet, so he slides into the role of the kid from a steel town with ease. I have no misgivings calling it one of Cruise’s most natural performances.

Craig T. Nelson co-stars as Cruise’s hard-nosed coach, a role similar to the one he would play on the hit TV series Coach. And, holy cow, isn’t Lea Thompson (Back to the Future) one of the cutesiest girls you’ve ever seen? She gleams as Cruise’s caring girlfriend. Charles Cioffi (Missing) has a few good moments as Cruise’s sympathetic father. Chris Penn (At Close Range) plays Cruise’s best friend.

Conclusions & Final Thoughts:

I wouldn’t say All the Right Moves is a great movie, but I liked the fact that Michael Kane’s (Southern Comfort) screenplay ignores a bunch of genre rules: the jock is nice, the blue-collar dad is sensitive, and the girlfriend is smart. And this is one of the few sports movies that doesn’t end with a big game. More importantly, this little teen drama offers an affecting look at the lives of young people who are trapped in a small town with no opportunities. Recommended. Color, 91 minutes, Rated R.

Theatrical Trailer:

36 responses to “All the Right Moves (1983)

  1. I have been lucky to have interacted with Cruise on several occasions and he is a consummate professional – gracious, polite and when he enters a room he introduces himself to every single person on the crew…so I am a fan of his – and this is an early look at his ability to command the screen – add “Risky Business” to the double bill and see a star being born! Not all of his films are good of course, but he is totally committed at all times and I’ve always admired that.

    Liked by 3 people

    • I’m not surprised at all. He is well liked by his peers, and I think he is underrated as an actor. His personal life is a little messy, but ain’t that the truth about most Hollywood people? Like I said, I’m not sure why I’ve never been a big fan. I do wish he would take a break from blockbusters, and do something more personal and low-key, like The Firm or Magnolia.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. I’ve never been a big fan of Tom Cruise myself, and like you, I don’t have a real reason why. Regardless, I remember liking this movie and wouldn’t mind seeing it again. Just don’t ask me to watch any of his blockbusters!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Underrated and quite touching. And that’s just the review!! I’m a fan of Cruise and he is a phenomenon, no doubt about it, but as someone has remarked lately, it would be great to see him loosen up a little!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. It may be easy to not care so much about an actor’s personal life, as controversial as it can certainly be nowadays, and still appreciate their work. Having recently seen Top Gun Maverick, Tom Cruise can certainly still be praised as one of our best and aging-well action stars. To look back on many of their earliest films, whether we first saw them at the time or not, is what makes reviews like yours, Eric, some of the most important contributions to WordPress. Thanks again for your review.

    Liked by 3 people

      • Especially when revisiting old movies may feel more revitalizing. When I think about the kind of movies I enjoyed from my younger years that for obvious reasons couldn’t be made today, it’s certainly easier for many old movies to reflect and say much about their times. As well as how the actors at the time could fit into those kinds of roles for their younger years.

        Like many hot young stars of the 80s and 90s, Tom Cruise had a flare of youthfulness that may still be visible in him today. That can make him all the more fascinating. It may be easy for me to say that having been young enough in the 80s and 90s to have such appreciation. Even Matthew Modine today in Stranger Things reminds me of a few of his early films like Vision Quest and Full Metal Jacket. I think that’s what can keep Tom Cruise thriving in this century. He can be a good reminder of how we can retain a certain movie magic that even today we haven’t really lost interest in.

        And you’re very welcome.

        Liked by 2 people

  5. Great review of a low-key film. I feel the same way about Mr. Cruise.
    -Chris
    (P.S. The new Mission Impossible id pretty spectacular. I recommend it.)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Man, it’s been a long time since I’ve seen this one, but I do remember liking it, and especially liking Lea Thompson…quite adorable indeed! After you mentioned Cruise’s older films from the ’80s, it was eye-opening to realize how long it’s really been since I saw those at the theater…and how cool it is that Cruise is still around making good, enjoyable movies, 40+ years later.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I agree about Lea Thompson. She’s so sweet and cute in the ’80s. Like a young Sally Fields was the decade before. Even if the wonderful Lea could not save ‘Howard the Duck’.

      Liked by 2 people

        • Oh she was but I have a serious crush on ‘Smokey and the Bandit’ era Sally. I know ‘Howard’ is beyond saving even with the divine Lea in her underwear.

          Liked by 3 people

        • Jaws 3 introduced me to Thompson. But I didn’t really notice her until I saw Red Dawn. She was, of course, great in Back to the Future, Some Kind of Wonderful, etc. I’m not sure why she isn’t considered part of the “Brat Pack.” In my opinion, she deserves to be placed among the best young actors of the era.

          Liked by 1 person

          • I agree. She was such a natural wonderful performer. I would have mentioned ‘Back to the Future’ too but she and the film are so legendary it goes almost without saying.

            Liked by 2 people

    • Yes, it’s amazing that Cruise is still a box office draw. I remember watching The Outsiders (1983) and thinking that Matt Dillon, or maybe Patrick Swayze, were going to be the biggest stars. Nope. The guy with the rotten teeth became a mega-star! LOL!

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment