Under Capricorn (1949)

Synopsis:

In the 1800s, a peniless Irish gentleman, Charles Adare (Michael Wilding, The Glass Slipper), arrives in Australia looking for a fresh start. After befriending a wealthy landowner, Sam Flusky (Joseph Cotten, Shadow of a Doubt), Adare immediately becomes smitten with Flusky’s troubled wife (Ingrid Bergman, Notorious).

Reaction & Thoughts:

“So many things have happened to us. So many things we don’t dare to talk about.”

Derided upon its initial release, Under Capricorn is often cited as one of Alfred Hitchcock’s dullest movies. To be honest, I was one of those people who never missed a chance to badmouth it. The film has, however, gown on me as I began to recognize its skillful handling of complex themes such as guilt, and romantic obsession.

I must first warn prospective viewers: despite Hitch’s reputation as the indisputable Master of Suspense, this isn’t really a thriller, this is a gothic romantic melodrama. The screenplay by renowned Scottish playwright James Bridie was based on the 1937 historical novel by Helen de Guerry Simpson. While Bridie’s script is unnecessarily wordy at times, it’s very good at exploring the ethos of the Hitchcock-verse.

As I stated before, Under Capricorn examines in depth things like crippling guilt and obsessive love, all common themes of Hitchcock films. And, as usual, the director expounds the distressing idea that love hurts. But by the same token, the movie suggests that love can heal almost anything. In the end, love is presented as both a disease and a medicine. It’s a provocative idea that can spark stimulating conversations.

However, for better or worse, discussions about the movie are often centered around its technical elements. The film features amazingly complicated long takes, as in Hitchcock’s previous film, Rope (1948). I’m sure most people are going to disagree with me, but I thought the unbroken takes worked much better here than on Rope, a movie that has always struck me as being nothing but a peculiar technical stunt.

Here Hitchcock saves the long takes for very specific moments, therefore the technique, in my opinion, felt organic. For example, I liked how Hitch shot Ingrid Bergman’s pivotal monologue, one of the actor’s finest moments on the screen. It’s a powerful, gut-wrenching sequence precisely because Hitchcock doesn’t break the scene into little pieces. You experience Bergman’s mental deterioration in real time.

Despite Hitch’s best efforts, Under Capricorn does have plenty of flaws. First, as beautiful as Jack Cardiff’s (Black Narcissus) color cinematography is, I thought the movie would have worked much better in black and white. It’s a gloomy, depressing story, and the gorgeous Technicolor hues clash with the gothic atmosphere.

In addition to that, I had a hard time accepting Swedish Bergman and American Joseph Cotten as an Irish couple. I would have hired James Mason (Hitchcock wanted Burt Lancaster, Elmer Gantry) and Deborah Kerr (The King and I). But Michael Wilding is perfect as a destitute Irish gentleman, and Margaret Leighton (John Ford’s Seven Women) nearly steals the show as Cotten’s conniving housekeeper.

Conclusions & Final Thoughts:

Under Capricorn is still one of Alfred Hitchcock’s most polarizing movies decades after its release. Filmmakers Peter Bogdanovich (The Last Picture Show) and François Truffaut (The 400 Blows) praised the movie to high heavens. Joe Walsh, a British critic and journalist, went even further and called it his favorite Hitchcock movie. Truth be told, I don’t know a single person who loves the movie. Personally, I think Under Capricorn has as many flaws (it’s talky, it’s slow as molasses) as it has virtues (amazing tracking shots, good performances). On a second look, I have concluded that the good outweighs the not-so-good. It’s a divisive movie, alright. Color, 117 minutes, Not Rated.

Hitch’s cameo

Theatrical Trailer:

14 responses to “Under Capricorn (1949)

  1. I love gothic romantic melodrama and Ingrid. Especially this one–I have never seen it!
    liked what you said about technicolor hues mismatch with the depressing story line. Thanks very much for sharing your like/hate feelings. I find that the older I get, the more a film I previously despised grows on me.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. What a great analysis. Yes, it’s a terrible film in many ways and Bergman is ridiculous (didn’t you love that John Gielgud said after directing her on stage, She speaks seven languages and can’t act in any of them) but of course it’s the utter incongruity of it all that keeps you watching. Alfred. What a man!

    Liked by 2 people

    • LOL! Yes, I’ve seen that quote before. Gielgud had a viperine tongue, didn’t he? Anyhow, I believe director Anatole Litvak was another one who didn’t think highly of Bergman. I do like her.

      Liked by 1 person

    • I wouldn’t be interested in seeing it either. I prefer Hitchcock’s better talents for mystery and suspense drama. Especially thanks to Rope. Thank you, Eric, for your review.

      Liked by 3 people

      • The movie does have a few interesting twists, but, yeah, it’s closer to Wuthering Heights or Jane Eyre than to any of Hitch’s classic thrillers. I liked it, but then I love costume melodramas.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. It has been a while since I saw this film, but I do know I liked it a lot better than Rope, the other long take experiment. I think that is partly down to the fact there really is no one to root for in Rope aside from Cedric Hardwicke.
    Under Capricorn does have its problems, that long take technique restrains Hitchcock and and affects the pace, leading to talkier and less effective scenes. Bit the cast is, in my view, much more sympathetic and the themes are of a type an audience can relate to.

    Liked by 2 people

    • You are absolutely right about Rope: it’s a cold, cold movie. It’s hard to “enjoy” a film where the two main characters are sociopaths. Under Capricorn, at the very least, makes you feel something.

      Liked by 1 person

      • It’s good to still have movies both old and new that make us feel something. Even if it can sometimes be sympathy for a villain.

        Liked by 2 people

  4. Great post, even If I disagree with your take on the film 🙂 I would actually rank Under Capricorn within my top 5 favorite Alfred Hitchcock films 🙂 The decision to shoot the film in color felt experimental. In terms of content, you have a gothic story and in terms of form, it is one shot in color. On the surface, it is a beautiful film, but in the center, a downbeat one.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I was eager to read your review, to see how your take compared to mine. I reviewed the movie last year, and wasn’t all that kind, but I found it interesting, looking back at my review, that you’d commented that you were going to re-watch it soon, and see if your original feelings toward it (they weren’t good) had changed. And it sounds like they have, for the most part.

    We did share a few of the same thoughts, however: we both thought Michael Wilding and Margaret Leighton were the best performers, and that the film itself was a bit talky and slow. And I never considered the ‘color vs black-and-white’ aspects of the photography until you mentioned it, but after thinking about it, I totally agree with you: I think it would’ve worked much better as a b&w film.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I just re-read your review. I don’t really disagree with anything you said. I agree with you that the movie has problems, but I have to admit that I liked it much better the second time around.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment