Sheena (1984)

Synopsis:

Sheena (Tanya Roberts, TV’s Charlie’s Angels), a white orphan raised by a kind and wise Shaman (Princess Elizabeth of Tooro) in the jungle of Africa, grows up to become a staunch protector of wild life against the evils of civilizations.

Reaction & Thoughts:

“An enemy is one who takes without asking.”

Despised by the critics and shunned by audiences upon its release, Sheena often makes the list of worst comic superhero movies. I, on the other hand, never understood the hate. I love its corny love scenes, giddy enthusiasm, and eco-friendly attitude, though I admit that it doesn’t deviate one inch from the old superhero formula.

After giving some thought to it, I realized that Sheena combines three things that I couldn’t possibly resist: a former Charlie’s Angels star, juicy electronic music, and a bunch of evil humans getting their butt whooped by mother nature. As a matter of fact, it had me at Tanya-Roberts-riding-a-zebra (aka painted horse) hello.

Written by Lorenzo Semple Jr. (Flash Gordon) and David Newman (Richard Donner’s Superman), the movie is based on a 1930s comic-book character created by Will Eisner and Jerry Iger. It’s an unpretentious homage to the serials of the ’30s and ’40s. Unlike, let’s say, Hugh Hudson’s serious-minded Greystoke: The Legend of Tarzan, Lord of the Apes, also released in 1984, Sheena wants nothing but to entertain viewers.

It’s essentially a B-movie with high production values. Except for below-par effects regarding a scene where a flock of flamingos attacks a helicopter, the film looks pretty good for the most part. The cinematography by Oscar-winning cameraman Pasqualino De Santis (Franco Zeffirelli’s Romeo and Juliet) is breathtaking, and I loved Richard Hartley’s (The Rocky Horror Picture Show) music score.

This is clearly not the type of movie where you expect to see great acting, nevertheless, the entire cast is outstanding. Roberts is effective in the title role, despite the fact that she is forced to do variations on the “Me, Tarzan. You, Jane” routine. Super-ripped Roberts does many of her own stunts, and it didn’t bother me that she looks great in that tiny jungle outfit. She even appears in the buff — eat your heart out, Bo Derek!

Ted Wass (Curse of the Pink Panther), the Paul Rudd of the ’80s, is endearing as the dude-in-distress. Let’s face it, playing the romantic interest of a superhero isn’t much of a challenge. But Wass’s everyman charm contrasts well with Roberts’s she-woman heroics. I also liked Elizabeth of Tooro, a real-life East-African princess, as Sheena’s Obi-Wan-like mentor. Trevor Thomas is charismatic as Sheena’s main antagonist.

Conclusions & Final Thoughts:

Although flawed, I still don’t get why so many people dislike this fun movie. Unlike Wonder Woman (2017) and Captain Marvel (2019), a pair of ridiculously over-produced female comic book movies, Sheena has a big heart, and that makes all the difference. I’m, of course, one of the few people on the planet who is willing to defend the film, but, hey, you like what you like, and that’s that. Color, 117 minutes, Rated PG.

Richard Hartley – Sheena’s Theme:

23 responses to “Sheena (1984)

  1. Thanks for reminding me that this movie exists! I know it’s based on a comic, but for some reason no one ever brings it up among other female led superhero movies. I’m gonna have to see it just to see if I can also accept it as B movie fun.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I always knew about the film, but I was more familiar with the 2000-2002 TV series starring Gina Lee Nolin. The comic series was very popular from what I remember reading, but for some reason didn’t translate well after the 50’s or 60’s. They aired the Sheena movie somewhere a while back and I did catch a little of it, it looks a little dated, but it was also a lot of fun.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I’m one of the few people who loves this movie, too. I’ve harbored a near-lifelong crush on Tanya and her death was just so devastating. She’s a delight in this movie, and looks amazing in that outfit.

    Liked by 2 people

      • Tanya as Julie had breathed some particularly new life into the final season of Charlie’s Angels. I felt she had the most dimension out of all the Angels and so she was probably my favorite. Julie’s showdown with that villainous hypnotist played by Eric Braeden is timeless.

        Liked by 2 people

        • I don’t remember the episode you mentioned, it has been so long since I watched the series! I do recall Tanya being my favorite new “Angel.” She was definitely better than Cheryl Ladd and Shelley Hack. In fact, I think Kate Jackson and Tanya had the most interesting roles in the show.

          Liked by 1 person

  4. It’s so weird when some movies are dissed like that, when there’s so much worse out there, and this is just pure entertainment. Plus which, super duper props to Tanya for getting in/being in shape. I could never swallow Brie Larson as Captain Marvel, and the woman who plays Wonder Woman looks like a stiff breeze could knock her over. I realize they have superpowers and don’t need to do pushups or sit-ups…but it would have been a plus, right? And yeah, I know a lot of the men don’t get in shape, so why should the ladies? Well, I would have, if I was invited to play those characters. But maybe that’s just me. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Sometimes the best superheroes are the ones who are real people, without needing any actual super powers, but just the quite human power to make a positive difference. Sheena could certainly qualify in that regard.

      Liked by 3 people

    • Tanya Roberts doesn’t look like Lou Ferrigno, but you can tell that she worked out, and this isn’t just vanity. It makes her character more believable.

      Unfortunately, Roberts is the exception to the rule. Ripped women go against society’s idealized version of femininity and that’s why I think actresses don’t kill themselves in the gym prior to playing a superhero (Scarlett Johansson, Brie Larson, etc.) while their male counterparts are expected to gain muscle before donning the tight costume (Paul Rudd, Henry Cavill, etc.).

      Liked by 2 people

  5. One of the movies I did NOT see in the ’80s when I was going to so many movies back then, after a six-plex opened in our neighborhood in 1980. I don’t know why I didn’t, but now that I’m happily catching up on the ones I missed from that era, I’ll definitely be adding it to my list.

    And Ted Wass as ‘the Paul Rudd of the 80s’…that got a laugh out of me!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment