From Here to Eternity (1953)

Synopsis:

The lives of three U.S. Army soldiers, played by Burt Lancaster (Elmer Gantry), Montgomery Clift (A Place in the Sun) and Frank Sinatra (Tony Rome), stationed in Fort Shafter (Hawaii) in the weeks prior to the attack on Pearl Harbor.

Reaction & Thoughts:

“A man loves a thing that don’t mean it’s gotta love him back.”

I’ve long wanted to revisit this adaptation of James Jones’s once controversial novel. I remember being impressed by the acting and the handling of various subplots. What do I think now? My initial reaction still holds true today — From Here to Eternity is a well-directed, well-written and well-acted movie. However, while it is true that this is a technically sound film, I do think that it has lost its edge.

I also just realized, I’m not sure why I didn’t notice it before, that this is an extremely nihilistic movie. From Here to Eternity doesn’t hold the human race in high esteem. There isn’t a single moment of pure joy in the entire movie. Each plot thread is a tragedy in itself, and each subplot brutally exposes the cracks of life.

And it is, at its core, an anti-military story, something you don’t see every day. I can’t name another Hollywood production that trashes military life the way this movie does here. The attack on the military machine is nothing short of sanguinary. Mind you, I don’t disagree with the film’s point of view. I was in the armed forces, and I’m here to tell you that this is, like it or not, a mostly accurate depiction of life on a military base.

 I used to tell my parents, half-jokingly, that the base was like “Peyton Place in Military BDUs.” Like any other large community, the place had an ugly side to it, and I’m glad that we have at least one movie that is willing to shatter the often-romanticized view of life on a military base. But despite the fact that I admired the movie for taking aim at one of America’s sacred cows, I did think that some bloom is off the rose.

Although the movie features many good moments, I felt a little deflated at the end. The recreation of the Pearl Harbor attack has dated badly (too much stock footage), and, in my opinion, some plot threads ended on a flat note. However, I thought the screenplay did an outstanding job tackling some sensitive issues, and director Fred Zinnemann’s craftsmanship comes across strongly in each and every scene.

The acting is undeniably good as well. Although I have always found Donna Reed (It’s a Wonderful Life) and Frank Sinatra’s Oscar-winning performances a tad overrated, the rest of the cast is splendid. Burt Lancaster is excellent as a Sgt. who is having an affair with his commanding officer’s wife, played exceedingly well by Deborah Kerr (The King and I). Lancaster and Kerr’s famous beach sequence is still very sexy. 

Ernest Borgnine (Marty) is memorable as the scary “Fatso.” But no one comes close to Montgomery Clift, who is the heart and soul of the movie. As I rewatch some of his films, I’ve become more and more convinced that he was a truly great actor. He is tragedian par excellence: few actors convey psychological pain as well as Monty. After the movie ended, I couldn’t stop thinking about his outstanding performance. 

Conclusions & Final Thoughts:

From Here to Eternity won a bunch of Oscars, including one for Best Picture. It is, in my opinion, however, nowhere as good as other 1953 movies like Henri-Georges Clouzot’s The Wages of Fear, William Wyler’s Roman Holiday, and George Stevens’s Shane. And it looks pretty tame compared to something like Francis Ford Coppola’s Apocalypse Now (1979), or Stanley Kubrick’s Full Metal Jacket (1987). It’s a competently crafted film, though. Overall, it’s good, but not great. B&W, 110 minutes, Not Rated.

Theatrical Trailer:

47 responses to “From Here to Eternity (1953)

  1. I agree – the acting is very strong, but the final act hasn’t aged very well (the fate of Prewitt is also poorly handled). A very good film, but Stalag 17 was the better WW2 film of the year.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I think it holds up for the most part. I’m glad there’s an Oscar caliber movie about Pearl Harbor compared to the Michael Bay movie of the same name. Though I do have trouble remembering anything other than the most iconic scene on the beach. Definitely worth a rewatch.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I need to see it another time because every moment has disappeared of my mind. I remember Lancaster and Kerr on the shore of course, but nothing else. I was a kid when I saw it. My dvd is still under blister. Time has come for a watch.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Excellent review. I love all the actors just wish it could have been more in depth like the novel. Interesting that years later Lancaster and Kerr would recreate their chemistry in ‘The Gypsy Moths’. Such a gorgeous lady!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Yes Jones is underrated. I’ve never waded into that 1500 page ‘Some Came Running’ but his ‘Thin Red Line’ is excellent and a really underrated work is his text on WWII in a book on WWII art. Very insightful writing in that.

      Liked by 3 people

      • Oh, I didn’t know Jones had written Some Came Running (I love the 1958 movie adaptation, directed by Vincente Minnelli). I did know about Thin Red Line: the 1964 movie version is just okay, but Terrence Malick’s 1990s adaptation is a masterpiece!

        Liked by 1 person

        • Yes ’98 ‘Thin Red Line’ has grown on me over the years. I once read a script that really followed Jones novel closely. Must have changed their minds and went the arty, poetic route. Of all the excellent performers in the film I am always struck by Nick Nolte’s passed over officer. That type of character seems very realistic to me as one who studies military history.

          Liked by 2 people

          • Well, the project was in limbo for many years, so it is possible that things changed when Terrence Malick came aboard. Anyhow, I’m a huge fan of Malick (he is like Kubrick’s brother from another mother), but I haven’t enjoyed his post-Tree of Life movies (he is beginning to repeat himself). However, Malick has always been an acquired taste — do you like his movies?

            Liked by 1 person

            • Yes I think ‘Badlands’ is incredible. Wonderful work by Malick, Sheen, and Sissy (whose early work I have a crush on heck her later work too), ‘Days of Heaven’ I need to see again. I like ‘The New World’ especially the extended cut and really I like ‘The Thin Red Line’. I need to study some of his most recent works. Acquired taste is a wonderful way to put Malick (I love Kubrick by the way).

              Liked by 3 people

                • Yes I really need to give ‘Tree of Life’ and ‘To the Wonder’ a go. Steel myself up for them as I know they can be divisive films. I’ll have to post some links to the late Lloyd Fonveille’s blog. He was an excellent writer who directed a 1988 movie called ‘Gotham’ with Tommy Lee Jones and Virginia Madsen. He has some wonderful pieces on Malick and movies in general and knowing you are a Bette Davis fan a picture of Bette and Joan Blondell where Bette looks so young and superb. It’s a great blog especially for movie lovers!

                  Liked by 2 people

                • I remember a little bit of Gotham, being a fan of Virginia Madsen at the time. I’d have to finally see it again after so long to know it much better.

                  Liked by 2 people

                • I’ve always liked Virginia Madsen. She achieved worldwide recognition thanks to Sideways (2004), but I liked her ever since I saw her Fire with Fire (1986), an underrated teen drama.

                  Liked by 1 person

                • I liked Fire With Fire too when I first saw it. Although nowadays my most favorite memory of Virginia is the opening narration for the original Dune.

                  Liked by 2 people

                • After Voyager and Enterprise, given my personal issues with the storylines, I eventually lost interest in any new Star Trek shows, I’m sorry to say. But Strange New Worlds, Prodigy, Axanar and a YouTube channel called These Are The Voyages have thankfully changed that.

                  Liked by 2 people

                • The overall blog address is: http://www.mardecortesbaja.com. The site has a good search engine so if you just type in Malick or John Ford or Stanwyck or westerns those articles will pop right up. He was friends with Kevin Jarre (stepson of Maurice Jarre the composer) who wrote the movies ‘Glory’ and ‘Tombstone’ and Fonveille’s articles on his friend especially on ‘Tombstone’ are very insightful, for example.

                  Liked by 1 person

                • I haven’t seen Gotham yet, but I noticed that Fonvielle wrote a few films I enjoyed, specifically The Lords of Discipline (1983), The Bride (1985), and the cult classic Cherry 2000 (1988). Thanks for the link!

                  Liked by 1 person

                • I like Virginia Madsen. She and Jennifer Connolly are really, really hot (no pun intended) in Dennis Hopper’s ‘The Hot Spot’ with Don Johnson. Crazy neo noir.

                  Liked by 3 people

    • Ha, yes, thanks to that urban legend, which by the way was debunked Eli Wallach, who was supposed to play the role, we get the classic horse scene in Godfather. Have you seen A Soldier’s Daughter Never Cries (1998)? It’s based on a book written by Jones’s daughter about growing up with the mercurial author. It’s supposed to be a very good movie.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Oh I love that film. I saw it in its brief theatrical release and thought Kristofferson was marvellous as Jones. It’s a really thoughtful piece of work as you’d expect from that team. I’d love to see it again.

        Liked by 2 people

      • Jone’s daughter has a nice piece on him in the Criterion version of ‘The Thin Red Line’. The booklet in it contains his thoughts on WWII films in the ’60s (Jones contributed to ‘The Longest Day screenplay).

        Liked by 2 people

  5. There is also a 1979 TV version of ‘Eternity’ with Natalie Wood and William Devane. Have not seen that one yet. Meant to mention it in an earlier post.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Another movie that has a terrible Army base is John Huston’s ‘Reflections in a Golden Eye’. Talk about crazy! Once seen never quite forgotten and that cast. And the weird sickly yellow tint, Liz and Brando, what Julie Harris once did with some shears, and Robert Forster riding a horse around naked. Strange stuff. Maybe you could review it some day?

    Liked by 2 people

    • Right on! It’s definitely anti-military. BTW, Reflections is one of my all-time favorite movies (hint: look at my top 100 list). It’s a masterpiece! It’s the best Tennessee Williams story he never wrote. The golden amber cinematography gives the movie a dream-like quality (the regular version isn’t half as good).

      Liked by 1 person

      • I just got the Blu last year. It has both versions. The yellow tint is much more memorable. I also meant to add Brian Keith (wonderful actor) seems to be the only sane person on that base. When I first got the DVD years ago ‘Reflections’ was as weird as I had read about on IMDB. I was impressed.

        Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment