The World According to Garp (1982)

Synopsis:

A struggling writer, T.S. Garp (Robin Williams, Dead Poets Society), tries to find his own sense of identity while dealing with his mother’s (Glenn Close, Dangerous Liaisons) overpowering personality, who unexpectedly becomes a feminist icon.

Reaction & Thoughts:

“It can be a real adventure having a life.”

Based on John Irving’s book of the same name, The World According to Garp is the story of man’s journey from birth to adulthood. I felt as though I was the proverbial fly-on-the-wall as I observed this person’s eventful life. The downside to this technique is that I merely felt like a spectator, thus I never developed an emotional connection with the title character. That said, this is a hugely entertaining comedy-drama.

It was directed by George Roy Hill, who gave us Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid (1969) and the cult sports movie Slap Shot (1977). All three movies use irreverent humor to explore serious issues. The World According to Garp aims much higher than the other two movies, though. This picaresque tale attempts to examine all aspects of the human experience: the good, the bad, and everything in between.

Frankly, I admired the ambition, but I had issues with the execution. The movie is essentially a collection of vignettes that are meant to illustrate the richness and unpredictability of human life. There are a many moments of humor and poignancy, even wisdom. But I felt that the story lacked a strong emotional core, so perhaps Steve Tesich’s (Breaking Away) screenplay is too shapeless for its own good.

Despite having misgivings about the script, I found The World According to Garp highly watchable thanks to the impressive cast. Robin Williams is quite good as the title character. Although the movie sometimes needs him to act goofy, you can see that Williams is trying hard to tone down his famous manic persona — it’s really nice to see him play a normal person for a change.

But as much as I liked Williams’s performance, the supporting actors are the ones who bring the story to life. Mary Beth Ruth (Chilly Scenes of Winter) is excellent as Williams’s frustrated wife. Glenn Close is even better as Williams’s eccentric mother. It’s hard to believe that this is Close’s very first movie because she dominates every scene she is in! Swoosie Kurtz (Against All Odds) is hilarious as a jaded prostitute.

But my favorite character was Roberta, a transgender woman played by John Lithgow (Blow Out). It’s a well-thought-out character that Lithgow plays brilliantly. This character could have gone wrong in so many ways, but thanks to Lithgow’s skills as an actor, Roberta becomes the beating heart of the movie. Hume Cronyn (Cocoon) and Jessica Tandy (Driving Miss Daisy) have funny cameos as Close’s parents.

Conclusions & Final Thoughts:

The World According to Garp tackles important themes such as self-discovery, gender differences, love, friendship, and the importance of human connection. Although the film doesn’t work exactly as intended, it still manages to be very funny, and extraordinarily perceptive. It’s flawed but conveys a solid sense of wisdom all the same. Plus, it features a bunch of great performances (both Glenn Close and John Lithgow received Oscar nominations). Color, 136 minutes, Rated R.

This is my contribution to It’s In the Name of the Title Blogathon, hosted by Rebecca’s Taking Up Room and Gill’s Realweegiemidget Reviews.

Theatrical Trailer:

35 responses to “The World According to Garp (1982)

  1. Great book and very good movie. What a cast…as you said, the film is flawed (as most adaptations of novels are!) but an eminently watchable film. You make me want to give it anothr look after all these years, Binford. (But that is always the case with your insightful reviews. You are a master.)

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I saw this movie recently, and like you I believe John Lithgow was the most loved character. I also think its so much better when Robin isn’t full tilt in your face as you suggest so this one of his better roles. Tune in later as I’ve added this to my Day 4 and recap post.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Pingback: NEWS… Recap and More Headlining Names for the It’s In the Name of the Title Blogathon – Realweegiemidget Reviews Films TV Books and more·

  4. Pingback: The It’s In the Name of the Title Blogathon: Wrapup – Taking Up Room·

  5. Excellent. I need to watch this. I always catch bits and pieces. I like serious Robin: ‘Dead Poets Society’, ‘One Hour Photo’, etc.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. It’s been a hot minute since I’ve read the book or seen the movie, but your short but sweet review has encouraged me to revisit both.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Excellent review of the world according to Garp! I first saw it as a very young kid, possibly two young to completely understood what was going on. However, subsequent viewings as an adult has made me appreciate the film even more and maybe understand why I was drawn to it in the first place. You’re right, Glenn close and John Lithgow shine bright!

      Liked by 1 person

    • I haven’t read any John Irving books, but I’ve seen the movie adaptations. I didn’t care for The Hotel New Hampshire or Simon Birch (aka A Prayer for Owen Meany), but I enjoyed Cider House Rules. I think Garp is my favorite, warts and all.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I’ve always heard of this movie but never got the chance to see it. Glad to know it’s not too bad even if the execution is a little shaky. Thanks so much for joining the blogathon, Eric–this was great!

    Liked by 2 people

  8. I remember this film getting so many not-so-great reviews when it was released, and I was completely turned off. The cast sounds first-rate, though, and your review has me intrigued. Plus, I’m always game to see a Robin Williams performance. Thank you for adding another movie to my watchlist!

    — Karen

    Liked by 2 people

    • It’s true, many film critics were not kind. And it was a mild box office hit. That said, Siskel & Ebert did like it. As I said before, I enjoyed it, despite having some issues with it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • It may have taken films like Good Morning Vietnam, Dead Poets Society and The Fisher King to most satisfyingly establish Robin Williams as viable cinema material. It was understandably a daunting task after his most recognizable mark in Mork & Mindy that he could have been stuck with him. But he persevered like any devoted artist and set a good example for many. R.I.P., Robin.

        Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment